PC Game GuidesPlay on Steam

Fallen Tear: The Ascension · Completion · Q&A

Fallen Tear The Ascension How Long To Beat — Official Length and Pace

Fallen Tear The Ascension how long to beat: the official 35 to 40 hour main story figure, the 80 hour completionist route and what Early Access saves.

Keyword: fallen tear the ascension how long to beatUpdated: 2026-09-294 sources

How Long to Beat Fallen Tear: The Ascension

The official answer is approximately 35 to 40 hours for the main adventure, depending on how you play, and more than 80 hours of content for completionists. Both figures come from the studio's own 1.0 launch announcement dated 23 September 2026, which makes them the only length estimates attached to the released version 1.0 build of the game. Community-tracked times do not exist yet, and the third-party measurements that do exist were taken during Early Access on a build that was roughly a third to a half of the finished game.

The gap between those two categories is the important thing to understand before you plan a run. A 35 to 40 hour main story from a hand-drawn Metroidvania is not a weekend commitment, and the same announcement lists the content that fills those hours: 10 additional major regions, 5 additional main bosses, 16 additional optional side bosses, 11 additional Fated Bonds, 16 additional Mastery Skills and three additional Ascensions, all added over what Early Access had.

Fallen Tear: The Ascension official screenshot
Official screenshot: the kind of region that stretches out a completionist run

The Official Numbers, Side by Side

SourceMain storyCompletionistNotes
Official 1.0 launch announcement (23 September 2026)Approximately 35 to 40 hoursMore than 80 hours of contentThe only figure tied to the released 1.0 build
Kickstarter campaign page (2024)20 to 40 hours on averageNot statedPre-release design estimate, published before Early Access
SmashPad Early Access review (29 June 2026)15 hours for the opening actNot statedMeasured on the Early Access build only
Third-party overview videoOver 40 hours of contentNot statedDescribes the planned full version
HowLongToBeatNo dataNo dataToo few submissions to publish a time

The pattern worth noting is that every figure except the official launch one is either pre-release or partial. The Kickstarter estimate of 20 to 40 hours was written in 2024 when the campaign described 26 biomes and a 20 to 40 hour intended length; the SmashPad figure of 15 hours covers only the Early Access opening act; and the overview video rounds the target up to over 40 hours. None of those replace the 35 to 40 hour main-story figure published with 1.0.

What the Early Access Numbers Measured

Early Access saves are not a reliable proxy for the finished game, because the studio changed both the content and the structure. The SmashPad review, published 29 June 2026, describes a run of about 15 hours through what it calls the game's driving opening act, and frames Early Access as a roughly one-third to one-half slice of the total projected offering, depending on which metric you use. It also warns that its own time reflects a deliberately episodic approach, playing a few hours and then waiting for the next content drop rather than pushing straight through.

The same review notes that the studio had not published a final word count or hours target at that point, and that the full game was described as heading for a late 2026 release, which it met on 23 September 2026. Two structural changes in 1.0 make an Early Access time hard to extrapolate from: the announcement says the opening portion of the game was reworked so the world is more open and less semi-linear than in Early Access, and it recommends deleting Early Access saves entirely rather than continuing them because progression, balancing and quests all changed.

Fallen Tear: The Ascension official screenshot 2
Official screenshot: exploration and hidden routes are a large share of the playtime

How the 35 to 40 Hours Break Down

The official announcement itemises what fills the full release, and those additions map onto where time actually goes. This table summarises the content the figures are describing rather than a measured breakdown, because no source publishes an hour-by-hour split.

Content categoryOfficial figure added in 1.0What it costs you in time
Major regions10 additionalExploration, traversal gating and backtracking across connected areas
Main bosses5 additionalStory-gated fights that usually require a specific loadout
Optional side bosses16 additionalElective fights, some unlocked by paying for information about a monster
Fated Bonds11 additional, 22 totalRecruitment quests and personal storylines per ally
Mastery Skills16 additional in Tiers III and IVFated Point earning, which is tied to region checklists
Ascensions and Hunter Skills3 Ascensions and 6 Hunter SkillsAbility unlocks that are also prerequisites for reaching later areas

The practical implication is that the completionist figure of over 80 hours is not 40 hours of combat plus 40 of collectibles. It is a second pass through the same regions with better movement and a fuller bond roster, which is how Metroidvanias with 26 biomes and region-level checklists tend to work.

What the Community Measurement Says So Far

HowLongToBeat, the site most people check for this exact question, has an entry for the game but cannot answer it yet. At the time of writing the page shows 1 playing, 31 backlogs, 0 replays, 1 beat and an NR rating, with the Main Story, Main Plus Sides and Completionist fields each displaying a dash, and the site states directly that there is not enough data. There is also a platform poll table with no rows filled.

  • 1 player tracked as currently playing against 31 backlogs, which is the profile of a release that most owners have not started yet.
  • 1 recorded completion in total, so any average would be a single data point.
  • No rating, because the rater threshold has not been reached.
  • No per-platform split, because the poll table has no submissions.

For context on why submissions are thin relative to appetite, the Steam store page carries 285 user reviews and a Mostly Positive standing, so people are playing and talking about it; they are simply not logging times on HowLongToBeat yet. Until enough do, the studio's own 35 to 40 hour and 80-plus hour figures remain the best available answer.

What Is Not Documented

A few reasonable questions have no documented answers, so they should not be guessed at, and it is worth being explicit about which ones rather than leaving them implied.

  • There is no published breakdown of main story versus side content in hours.
  • There is no measured figure for how much the Story Mode and Fallen Tear difficulty options change total time.
  • There is no official speedrun benchmark, and none published by the studio at all.
  • There is no estimate for a bond-only or low-completion run, even though bonds gate both damage and access.
  • There is no per-region time estimate, so a 26-biome world has no documented pacing map.
  • The 1.0.1 patch notes only say that difficulty spikes in a few areas were reduced, without quantifying any effect on length.

If a number matters to you, the 35 to 40 hour main story and 80-plus hour completionist figures from the launch announcement are the ones the studio actually published.

FAQ

How long is the main story in Fallen Tear: The Ascension?
The official 1.0 launch announcement gives approximately 35 to 40 hours for the main adventure depending on playstyle, and more than 80 hours of content for completionists. That announcement is the only official length figure tied to the released version 1.0 build.
Why does HowLongToBeat show no times for the game?
Because too few players have submitted them. The HowLongToBeat entry for Fallen Tear: The Ascension lists 1 playing, 31 backlogs, 0 replays, 1 beat and an NR rating, with the Main Story, Main Plus Sides and Completionist fields all showing dashes, and the site states plainly that there is not enough data.
How long was the Early Access build?
A SmashPad Early Access review reports playing a solid 15 hours of the game's driving opening act from a June 2026 build, and estimates that Early Access represented anywhere from a third to about half of the game's total projected offering depending on the metric used.
How many hours is the Kickstarter estimate?
The Kickstarter campaign page states the game's intended length as 20 to 40 hours on average. That is a pre-release design estimate from the 2024 campaign and it is lower than the official 35 to 40 hour main-story figure published with the 1.0 release.
Does difficulty change the length?
It is not documented. No official or third-party source in these materials measures how much the Story Mode and Fallen Tear difficulty options change completion time, and the 1.0.1 patch notes only say that difficulty spikes in a few areas were reduced rather than giving any timing effect.

More in Completion

More completion pages in Fallen Tear: The Ascension.

References

Facts on this page are compiled from the references above. Items marked "to confirm" are single-source and not yet verified.